Briefing · AI agents and payments
AI assistants are starting to take orders on businesses’ own channels. Can yours keep the promise?
Since May 2026, Mastercard, PaymentAuth, Circle and PayPal have announced pieces that let AI assistants find a business, work on its own website, app or chat, and start a payment. None of them holds the table, sets the deposit rule or honours the cancellation window. Those promises are still yours to write and keep.
Published Updated
May 2026
Four moves that let agents find, sell and pay
Three companies, one direction: the pieces that let an AI agent find a business, work on its own channels and pay are turning into ready-made products.
Circle · 11 May
An agent finance kit in one box
Circle Agent Stack packages agent wallets, an agent marketplace, a command-line tool and nanopayments, very small payments, with built-in limits.
Mastercard · 13 May
A live agent payment in Germany
Germany’s first live, authenticated agentic transaction ran on Mastercard Agent Pay, booking an event through a partner, with named banks on the public partner list.
PaymentAuth · 18 May
A written standard for paying for a service
The Machine Payments Protocol added a draft for how an agent finds a paid service, plus card, Stripe and multi-rail payment objects.
Mastercard · 26 May
Shopping agents a business runs itself
An Agent Suite in Merchant Cloud: brand-owned shopping agents on a business’s own website, app and messaging channels, connected to identity, catalogue, pricing, inventory and payment.
The agent and the payment are getting easier. None of these makes a promise a business can keep.
What these announcements don’t show
Mastercard Merchant Cloud packages merchant-owned agents and built-in payment. It doesn’t prove that a local service can be booked and honoured, and it isn’t a reservation guarantee.
Agent payment tools don’t check reservation holds, deposits, cancellation rules or whether a service is actually available.
PayPal, 16 September 2026
An agent can fill the basket. A person still pays.
PayPal published a concrete route using WebMCP, which it describes as a proposed open web standard. A shop declares on its own pages what an assistant may do: a garden centre switches it on, and a compatible assistant can act on that storefront, within what the garden centre chose to expose.
Reads the catalogue
Products and their details: the item, description, variants and price, exactly as the shop last published them.
Checks availability and options
Whether an item can be had now, and in which size or colour. This is a read, not a reservation: nothing describes the agent holding stock.
Builds the cart
The items, quantities and running total. Putting an order together isn’t placing it.
Starts checkout, the buyer finishes
PayPal lists “Starting and completing checkout”, but its own Store Sync description has the agent “initiate checkout”. Then “the buyer is handed off to PayPal to sign in, choose or confirm a funding source, review the transaction, and approve payment.” We use that narrower reading.
The buyer approves in PayPal
Nothing here is an agent spending money on its own. And a route that reads your catalogue faithfully publishes whatever is behind it, right or wrong.
Who can use it today
PayPal writes that this “is limited to Store Sync customers today” (Store Sync is a PayPal product for merchants), and that it will give more detail on availability “as more browsers support the standard”. It’s a bounded test, not general availability, and we make no estimate of how many merchants have it or could have it.
It’s optional: PayPal gives Store Sync merchants “a path to test, learn, and decide whether supporting agent-assisted shopping is helpful for their business”. A merchant who does nothing has nothing.
Access runs through PayPal. Its showcase says “WebMCP access is currently controlled through PayPal enablement” and points merchants to their PayPal representative or paypal.ai.
It depends on the browser. The showcase says the experience “may vary by browser agent”, and we don’t list which browsers support it today.
October 2026
Checkout tools still need the buyer’s permission
Five official sources, rechecked on 5 October 2026. MCP and UCP, below, are technical standards that let an AI assistant act on a shop; the note at the end explains both. Each keeps its own status and the limit that stops it proving more than it says.
Published documentation
BigCommerce
- Source date
- 16 September 2026
Catalyst 1.12.0 storefronts pass Universal Commerce Protocol (UCP) requests through to BigCommerce, its MCP server can join a shopper’s existing session with a short-lived token, and B2B buyer tools depend on each buyer’s permissions. A reachable endpoint doesn’t show a merchant can fulfil an order.
Published browser tools
Shopify checkout
- Source date
- 28 September 2026
The tools work inside the buyer’s own browser session. An agent can read checkout and fill in supported fields, but submits only after the buyer confirms, and hands back control when card authentication (3D Secure) or a blocking step needs the buyer.
Preview
Microsoft Dynamics 365 Commerce
- Source date
- Living documentation, last updated 14 September 2026; first publication not stated
Microsoft documents an MCP server for shopper journeys from finding a product to checkout through a hosted payment link, as a preview that may change. Preview isn’t general availability, and it shows no merchant deployment.
Documentation clarification
UCP specification
- Source date
- 5 October 2026
A business returns stored buyer details, loyalty membership or saved payment methods only to a request in which the buyer is authenticated, which the specification already required to be authorised for the operation. It clarifies a permission boundary; it doesn’t add a new identity service.
Released optional control
MCP TypeScript SDK 2.3.1
- Source date
- 5 October 2026
Its legacy server package can now accept only access tokens issued for that server. The check is off unless a developer turns it on, so the release doesn’t show any deployment uses it, and it says nothing about a merchant’s stock.
These sources describe the named vendors and specifications. They don’t show an integration with Obenan, deployment by any merchant, a booking or a sale.
Two terms, in plain words
MCP, the Model Context Protocol, is a published way for software to describe the actions an AI assistant may take on it. UCP, the Universal Commerce Protocol, is a technical standard for AI checkout.
Each source keeps its own date. This article’s first publication date, 29 May 2026, is unchanged.
What stays your job
Taking an order isn’t keeping a promise
Our read: the rails for finding and paying are becoming infrastructure. The layer in between, whether the offer is real and can be kept, is still written by the business.
What networks and platforms supply
- Agents that find a business and read its catalogue
- Shopping agents on the business’s own channels
- Payment, authorisation and settlement
What only you can make true
- Availability that binds: the slot is actually open, not just listed
- Complete rules for deposits, cancellations, changes and no-shows
- Service windows: when, by whom and for how long
- Facts that are current at the moment of booking
- A record of what was promised, and on what terms, before money moves
An agent can take the order long before the business can safely keep it.
Where it breaks with the payment working
An agent books a 19:00 table the restaurant can’t seat, because the listed availability was a guess, not a hold.
An agent accepts an appointment with a deposit the business never agreed to charge.
An agent confirms a slot the business’s own system has already given away.
An agent quotes a cancellation window the business doesn’t honour, and the dispute lands on the business.
What to do
Five things to get ready
Start with the service customers book most, before any assistant books it for them.
Treat any agent as a publisher of your facts
It repeats your catalogue, hours, prices and availability as they are. Check them first, because a wrong fact becomes a confident wrong answer.
Write your rules down
Deposits, cancellations, changes and no-shows, written so that someone outside your business could apply them without asking you.
Know what is truly bookable
Separate what you list as open from what you can actually hold right now, for each service and time.
Ask your shop or payment provider one question
Can you use this today? PayPal’s route is only for Store Sync merchants it has enabled, so ask your PayPal representative. On Shopify or BigCommerce, ask what an assistant can do on your store and where the buyer confirms.
Keep a record of every promise
What was offered, at what price and on which terms, so a dispute can be settled on facts.
A newer Briefing
Building the commerce agent is getting easier. Connecting it to a real merchant is still the hard part.
Anthropic’s commerce blueprint helps teams build shopper and merchant agents. Real catalogues, checkout, permissions and approval still need integration.
Read the full BriefingKeep reading
The rest of the thesis
Why the facts sit upstream of every payment rail, how agent payments are standardising, and where the promise a business can keep fits.
- Card networks are teaching AI agents to pay. Only you can say what’s for sale.Why the payment side is moving fast while your prices, free slots and terms stay yours to keep right.Read the Briefing
- AI agents are getting ways to payHow agent payments are settling into protocols and rails, and what that leaves to the business.Read the Signal
- The committability ladderWhere each step from finding a business to paying it sits, and which step only the business can take.Read the Briefing
Questions about this research?
Write to Obenan Research about the sources, or about what they could mean for your business.
Sources
Where this comes from
Built from public, primary sources; each shows its own date. Obenan is not part of Mastercard Merchant Cloud, Mastercard Agent Pay, PaymentAuth or Circle Agent Stack, and doesn’t process, authorise, tokenise, acquire, settle or route payments. Nothing here implies approval, endorsement, partnership, pilot, certification or integration with any company named. No one has independently checked the catalogue, availability or price an agent sees through PayPal’s route: neither PayPal’s post nor its showcase publishes such a check, and Obenan hasn’t run one.
- Intelligent agentic shopping experiences with Merchant Cloud
Mastercard Published Checked
The merchant-owned Agent Suite inside Merchant Cloud.
- Empowering merchants in the new era of agentic commerce
Mastercard Published Checked
Mastercard’s companion framing of agentic commerce for merchants.
- Machine Payments Protocol specifications
PaymentAuth Published Checked
The service-discovery draft and the card and multi-rail payment objects.
- Circle launches AI infrastructure to power the agentic economy
Circle Published Checked
Circle Agent Stack: agent wallets, marketplace, command-line tool and nanopayments.
- Deutschlands erste agentische Transaktion
Mastercard Published Checked
Germany’s first live authenticated agentic transaction on Agent Pay.
- WebMCP is here: PayPal is helping every merchant become agent-ready
PayPal Developer Published Checked
What the route lets an agent do, the hand-off to the buyer, the Store Sync limit and that it’s optional.
- PayPal WebMCP Merchant Showcase
PayPal Checked
A vendor demonstration, not a merchant deployment. The source for access running through PayPal enablement. No publication date shown.
- BigCommerce developer changelog
BigCommerce Published Checked
UCP pass-through on Catalyst storefronts, the MCP session token and permission-gated B2B buyer tools.
- Shopify developer changelog: WebMCP support for checkout
Shopify Published Checked
Checkout tools in the buyer’s own session, submitted only after the buyer confirms.
- Microsoft Learn: Dynamics 365 Commerce MCP server (preview)
Microsoft Learn Checked
The preview MCP server and its shopper journeys. Living documentation, last updated 14 September 2026; first publication not stated.
- UCP specification commit 40e03b9
Universal Commerce Protocol on GitHub Published Checked
Stored buyer details returned only to a user-authenticated request.
- MCP TypeScript SDK release 2.3.1
Model Context Protocol on GitHub Published Checked
The optional token audience check.